News

In March, Google will begin removing Google+ accounts and pages

Google will begin removing Google+ accounts - theblogpoint.com
Written by Evan Murray

In December 2018, Google announced  its decision to close Google+ for consumers in April 2019 due to the low level of use and problems associated with maintaining a successful product that meets consumer expectations. We want to thank you for participating in Google+ and provide the opportunity to download photos and other content.

“ON APRIL 2, YOUR GOOGLE+ ACCOUNT AND ANY GOOGLE+ PAGES YOU CREATE WILL BE DISABLED AND WE WILL BEGIN REMOVING CONTENT FROM GOOGLE+ USER ACCOUNTS.”

Photos and videos from Google+ in your album and on your Google+ pages will also be deleted. You can  download and save  your content, just make sure you do it before April. Please note that photos and videos saved to Google Photos will not be deleted.

The process of removing content from Google+ user accounts, Google+ pages, and album archives will take several months, and content may remain at this time. For example, users can see a portion of their Google+ account using the Activity Log, and some Google+ users may still be visible to G Suite users until the Google+ user is deleted.

From February 4th, you will no longer be able to create new profiles, pages, communities, or Google+ events.  See the full  FAQ  for more details and upgrades leading to shutdown.

If you are the owner or moderator of the Google+ community  , you can  download and save  your data to the Google+ community. Starting in March 2019, additional data, including author, text and photos for each community publication in the community, will be available for download.

If you sign in to sites and apps using the Google+ sign-in button  , these buttons will stop working in the coming weeks, but in some cases they may be replaced by the Google sign-in button. You will still be able to sign in to your Google Account.

If you used Google+ for comments for your own or other sites  , this feature will be removed from Blogger on February 4 and other sites will be up to March 7th. All your Google+ comments on all sites will be removed from April 2, 2019.

If you are a developer  using the Google+ API API or Google+ login, click  here  to find out how it affects you.

Leave a Comment